Astrology, horoscope, 2012 horoscope, vedic astrology, zodiac signs, kapiel raaj
Kapiel Raaj on Functional Benific and Functional Melafics 

What are functional malefic and Functional benefic planets?

Each ascendant in Vedic astrology has certain planets that although are benefic in nature, become malefic for that particular ascendant. This is why Jupiter and Moon conjunction may not always be good. Also, Rahu and Ketu are always acting as functional malefic for all ascendants.


In Cancer ascendant, Jupiter becomes a functional malefic planets along with Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. When Moon comes in conjunction with Jupiter in 6th, 8th or 12th house, it will have adverse results than good results since Jupiter rules the 6th house of disease for the native. I have seen cases where Jupiter and Moon conjunction was in the 12th house for Cancer ascendant causing mental illness while sitting in the Nakshatra of Rahu. Why? because Moon represents the mind while Jupiter is the lord of disease and in conjunction with the moon in Nakshatra of Rahu that itself represents illusion. These placement represents disease of the mind.

Functional malefic are any planet whose moolatrikona sign is in 6th, 8th or 12th house.

Functional benefic planets are those who rule the trikona house for the ascendant and do not have their moolatrikona sign in 6th, 8th or 12th house; some kendra lords if they are friendly to the ascendant also become functional benefic.

Let's find out what are the FM and FB of all ascendants.

Functional Benefic

Aries- Mars, Sun, Jupiter and Moon
Taurus- Venus, Saturn and Mercury 
Gemini- Mercury, Venus and Saturn 
Cancer- Moon and Mars
Leo- Sun, Mars and Jupiter
Virgo- Mercury and Venus
Libra- Venus and Saturn
Scorpio- Mars, Jupiter, Moon and Sun
Sagittarius- Jupiter, Mars, Mercury and Sun
Capricorn- Venus, Saturn, Mercury
Aquarius- Saturn and Venus
Pisces- Jupiter, Moon and Mars

Functional Malefic

Aries- Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Taurus- Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
Gemini- Rahu and Ketu
Cancer- Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu
Leo- Moon, Rahu, Ketu
Virgo- Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu
Libra- Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Scorpio- Venus, Rahu, Ketu
Sagittarius- Moon, Rahu, Ketu
Capricorn- Sun, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
Aquarius- Moon, Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Pisces- Sun, Saturn, Venus, Rahu, Ketu

Rest of the planets that are not in functional benefic or malefic table are considered functional neutral, they give results according to their dignity as in house and sign placement.

Also for Taurus and Scorpio ascendant Venus and Mars are not really considered functional malefic even though their moolatrikon sign is placed in the 6th house. Ascendant lord is always the most benefic planet; for these two ascendants their lords become functional natural, giving results based on their sign placement and house placement.

astrology, horsocope, astrology krs, kapiel raaj, zodiac signs, jyotish, vedic astrology
Please donate, it helps!
Custom Search